VIP Room

Free Downloads, The WTTS Blog

Free Download Of The Week: Angel Olsen

Free Download Of The Week: Angel Olsen

Comments Off on Free Download Of The Week: Angel Olsen 30 April 2014

Angel Olsen

Photo by Zia Anger

Missouri-born singer-songwriter Angel Olsen released her sophomore effort Burn Your Fire For No Witness this past February on Jagjaguwar Records. The release is a follow up to her 2010 debut EP Strange Cacti and her 2012 full length album Half Way Home. ”I was trying to take a little bit of what I learned from both of those early records,” says Olsen of her initial aim with Burn Your Fire For No Witness, “and I thought maybe some space around guitar and a little bit of space on drums would sound cool. We ended up recording a lot of stuff live and then adding vocals later, so that was a difference this time around. I think that gives a live perspective to the songs – not that any live performance will be like the record, but it has more of a feeling when everyone is playing it together. You can tell.”  Download “Hi-Five” from Burn Your Fire For No Witness and learn more about Angel Olsen at her Official Website, “Like” her on Facebook, and follow her on Twitter.


The WTTS Free Download Of The Week is Delivered by IndyGo.

World Class Rock Week-In-Review: 5/1/14

World Class Rock Week-In-Review: 5/1/14

Comments Off on World Class Rock Week-In-Review: 5/1/14 30 April 2014

"A Hard Day's Night" is headed back to theaters

“A Hard Day’s Night” is headed back to theaters

  • The Beatles’ A Hard Day’s Night headed back to movie theaters (Rolling Stone)
  • Foo Fighters’ new album: photos from the recording sessions (CoS)
  • Coldplay unveil new single “A Sky Full Of Stars” (NME)
  • Stream tUnE-yArDs new album Nicki Nack (Pitchfork)
  • Police release new Kurt Cobain death-scene note (UCR)
  • Steve Albini says the Internet solved “the problem with music (SPIN)
  • Radiohead and Pink Floyd members petition to keep guitars in prisons (Rolling Stone)
  • Pharrell reveals “Happy” was originally Cee Lo Green’s song (CoS)
  • Keith Richards covers Bob Marley’s “Get Up Stand Up” (NME)
  • Jonny Greenwood to perform There Will Be Blood score live in London (A.V. Club)
  • Brian Eno and Karl Hyde stream collaborative album, share rehearsal footage (Pitchfork)
  • Hear R.E.M.’s stunning 2001 Unplugged version of “The One I Love” (Rolling Stone)
  • Paul McCartney logo recreated on Ecuadorian mountain (UCR)
  • Watch the Pixies pick apart Indie Cindy track by track (SPIN)
  • Paul Simon appears in court following disorderly conduct arrest (NME)
  • Eric Clapton and friends honor JJ Cale with new tribute LP (Rolling Stone)
  • Washed Out designs shoe (Pitchfork)
  • Willie Nelson gets fifth-degree black belt ahead of 81st birthday (SPIN)
  • Decemberists’ Colin Meloy performs new song, “Carolina Low” (Paste)

The Black Keys – “Fever” (Later…with Jools Holland)

Arcade Fire Reflektor Tour (Vevo Tour Exposed)

David Byrne – “Fantastic Man” (William Onyeabor cover on Fallon)

Coldplay – “Magic” (Later…with Jools Holland)

Tuesday Releases: April 29, 2014

Tuesday Releases: April 29, 2014

Comments Off on Tuesday Releases: April 29, 2014 30 April 2014

PixiesIndie Cindy

Ray LaMontagneSupernova

Old 97’sMost Messed Up

The String Cheese IncidentSong In My Head

Creedence Clearwater RevivalGreatest Hits

Chris Robinson BrotherhoodPhosphorescent Harvest

Jim GaffiganObsessed

Wye OakShriek

Brody DalleDiploid Love

Ramona LisaArcadia

Brian BladeLandmarks

The Rise and Fall of The ClashDVD

TTS Shutterbug: The Hold Steady

TTS Shutterbug: The Hold Steady

Comments Off on TTS Shutterbug: The Hold Steady 28 April 2014

The Hold Steady was gracious enough to stop by the station and give a small audience of listeners a intimate performance. To view that entire session Click Here. Below are photos of the band with listeners during a meet and greet. Photos courtesy of Rhythm In Focus Photography.

WTTS on Facebook

© 2015 WTTS FM.